Foreshore and seabed, Treatygate

Whitebaiter too white for beach bullies

Canterbury’s Ashley River mouth is the latest part of the foreshore and seabed to witness the bully-boy tactics of Griever Maori with an inflated sense of entitlement:

A Canterbury whitebaiter says he was spat on and  verbally abused by a group of Maori for fishing at the Ashley River, north of  Christchurch over the weekend.

The man, who only wants to be identified as Simon, was  confronted on the beach after whitebaiting for three hours at the river mouth.

Simon says he was driving back along the beach when  two elderly Maori blocked the road with their ute.

“This Maori lady came up to me and said, ‘You white  piece of fu**en trash,’ and spat on the ground in front of me,” he says.

“She said, ‘This is our bloody land. Who do you think you are coming down here?’”

Except it wasn’t their ‘bloody land’. It was public land. And Simon no doubt thought he was a member of the public.

Parts of the land at the mouth of the Ashley River is  administered by the Te Kohaka Tuhaitara Trust in partnership with the  Waimakarirei District Council, but they don’t not have ownership.

Imagine what the Grievers will be like if they ever do have ownership.

To his credit, Simon’s Maori brother-in-law Marc was infuriated by the incident:

“I think it’s appalling. They don’t own the land, they don’t have fishing rights and it is just a few Maori idiots making the rest of  us look bad and that pisses me off.

“I’m all for the rights of Maori but I’m also for the  rights of everybody and everybody has the rights to be there. That’s it. Game over.”

Except it’s not over, Marc.

If we don’t stand up to these thuggish overgrown teenagers, I think we’ll find it’s just beginning.

65 thoughts on “Whitebaiter too white for beach bullies

  1. John/Hone you put it in a nutshell. I absolutely agree with you and I know many who also do. We need more people like you on this blog.

    As for segregation of Maori and others, I grew up in Whakatane which had, and still has, a high part-Maori population. I mixed with all sorts of people, attended movie theatres regularly and never ever saw any sign of segregation. I wasn’t in so-called ‘white’ areas either and didn’t even know of such things.

    I don’t know about pubs/bars though as I didn’t go into them, being under age. I had married and left by the time I was 21.

  2. I’m sure I would have at least known about it as some of my friends at school were part-Maori and they would have surely said something if they had experienced it.

  3. Thank you very much anakereit for the recipe!

    It is the same as the very original sour dough recipe.

    The memory I have of Maori bread is from when I was 6 or 7 years old.

    Our school went to the local Marae and I remember us kids sheepishly filing into this big hall and seating ourselves at table’s set against the wall’s of the room.

    A basket of freshly fried bread buns were placed on our table’s and I remember staring at them and breathing in the delicious aroma as it seeped and wafted around.

    I could not wait to try them, and I was not dissapointed when we were allowed to start our meals.

    It was unlike any bread I had ever tasted before. It had been deep fried and had an unbelievable sweetness.

    It has stuck with me my whole life and I have never tasted bread since that has remotely resembled it 🙂

  4. yes it is a sour dough bread. For fried bread i cheat and use couple of cups of self raising flour, couple of teaspoons baking powder couple tablespoons of sugar, mix with milk, then cut up and fry in cooking oil (dont tell my aunties, who still use dripping/lard). gosh now im hungry haha. My koro used to race for the fry bread and eat it with about an inch of butter on it. and it had been fryed in dripping, sort of a heart attack on a plate 🙂

  5. Your koro was onto it! There is nothing like butter anakereiti – I hate this plastic oily stuff they tell us we should be using these days.

  6. I view race relations like I view any relationship.

    There needs to be effort from both sides to make it work.

    It is important to be made aware of how we impact on eachother so we can make a conscious effort to make change’s – which, when comparing the 1950’s to today, I believe New Zealander’s have done well over the year’s at the social level.

    We should be giving ourselves a pat on the back!

    What we are struggling with today is the direct result of what is being projected onto us by our leader’s and race based politics.

  7. What we are struggling with today is the direct result of what is being projected onto us by our leader’s and race based politics.

    Actually the above should be ‘identity politics’.

Leave a Reply

