Treatygate

Auckland meetings

Just a short word on the Auckland meetings, as I have to prepare for Tauranga this evening.

About 60 came to the Greenlane meeting, and about 30 to the Finlayson meeting at Orewa.

I was disappointed that many who said they were coming didn’t make it, but I also understand that 60 for a political meeting on a Saturday afternoon in Auckland with only word-of-mouth and blog advertising is pretty good.

In the morning, I had to keep my arm in the air for many minutes before the Appeaser-General finally saw it jutting up in the front row directly ahead of him.

He seemed positively gleeful about the progress he was making surrendering New Zealand to Griever Maori. In listing all the settlements he had achieved, he didn’t once seem to consider it relevant to enquire as to whether the claims were fair.

I raised this subject, and he asked which claims I considered unfair.

I gave as an example the payment of hundreds of thousands of dollars to Te Kooti’s descendants, when Te Kooti’s Hauhau troops had committed the most barbaric atrocities, such as tossing the three Lavin children in the air and impaling them on bayonets.

I could equally have said the $10 million he is compensating Ngati Toa for the loss of their marine empire, meaning Te Rauparaha’s right to cross Cook Strait and slaughter, butcher and devour Ngai Tahu.

This ogre, after whom is named the Arena in Porirua, once slit open the stomach of a live pregnant woman and roasted the foetus on a stick. That was at Kaiapoi.

The Orewa audience consisted of many National Party members, but most seemed very much opposed to Finlayson’s defence of his Treaty position.

When I asked what he would do if he learned that 80% of New Zealanders supported a New Zealand where all citizens had equal rights, lived under the one law, voted on the one roll, and had their taxes spent according to need, not race, he said he doubted whether I spoke for many at all.

Judging by the chorus of approval from his party members when I mooted the idea of polling the people, I wouldn’t be so sure about that, Chris!

He has been on record as saying “It’s very hard to please Mr Ansell.”

Not at all. All his leader would have to do was run New Zealand as a democracy.

In the afternoon, I was much relieved to be able to set my own agenda. In interviews, you never know when the next question is coming, so you can tend to cram too much in. (Or at least I can.)

When you’re in control, you can lay out your evidence at your own pace.

Sadly, my week before was taken up with far more admin than I’d counted on, so the presentation was not as structured as I’d have liked. But I did put up 130 slides worth of compelling evidence, and I hope attendees got something out of it.

Mr News, Vinny Eastwood, recorded the whole thing, and I’m getting tonight’s Tauranga speech recorded for you as well.

That might include a chat between me and 100-200 protestors.

The organisers have told the police that it will be peaceful, by which I suppose they mean non-violent rather than silent. :-).

I’ve had a lot of registrations for Wellington, but not many for Kapiti, so will decide whether to go ahead with that meeting after tonight.

The Sun newspaper in Tauranga has given me, and the Treaty issue, a great deal of coverage. They interviewed me earlier for their website, and that footage may make its way on to 3News at 10pm, and possibly One as well.

I noticed the Herald journalist stayed long enough to report on the numbers, but left soon after the start of the speech. Hmmm.

More later.

I haven’t had time to monitor the blog, and apologise for what I understand is being done to it.

I have discussed the matter with the police, and they have made a good suggestion, which I’ll be following up. Our friends are certainly giving us plenty of evidence.

 

Leave a Reply

